Journaling Reloaded!

Journaling (expressive writing) is about writing your thoughts in a book whether you are frustrated, happy or confused.

Pexels.com


Why do we journal?

We lose our sense of self in different situations we go through in a day and we forget to let it out of our systems and look forward to the next day with that baggage inside of us. Journaling creates an environment where you can question your reactions and find ways to mend yourself. Robin Sharma’s book, The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari explains the power of inner contemplation. He says that by taking time to get to know yourself, you will connect a dimension of your being that you never knew you had.

What are the benefits?

You will learn how to master yourself. It keeps your memory sharp. Not only does it boost memory but it increases working memory capacity. It boosts your mind and gives you a greater sense of overall emotional well-being and happiness.

How to do it?

• Find a quiet corner.

• Think about all the actions whether positive or negative that happened on that particular day.

• Write it down and assess

• Reward the good actions by giving your precious energy to them

• Come up with a clear source of action to get rid of the negative actions

• Track your progress

• Be consistent

My journey with expressive writing helped me eliminate people in my life who bring me back to a place I don’t want to be. I am more aware of where I want to be and when I feel distracted or unfocused, I create time to reflect on my environment and where my mind is which has helped me to understand myself better.

You can have two separate journals that is a personal journal and a gratitude journal. In your gratitude journal you can write what you are grateful for and in your personal journal you can write about your day and reflections.

You don’t need to have a fancy journal to start writing, you can start by using any notepad or type in your phone. The important thing is to write your feelings down.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. tcndangana says:

    Writing is therapeutic and it helps me express my emotions and feelings better😊. Journaling has saved me on countless occasions

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s amazing!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. detwritus says:

    I find it a spiritual activity, its a way to cut through the cloud of thoughts to gather heavy drops of truth. Its therapeutic and i wish more people would do it, because it tends to order the chaos within. Thank you very much for this post!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Very true
      Thank you do much for reading

      Like

Leave a comment